NADP Awards

Gabryl Award

The Gabryl Award is often described as the “lifetime achievement award” but officially recognizes outstanding volunteer service to further the mission of NADP and has as criteria long time service as an NADP volunteer and a significant contribution to NADP’s advancement.  Recommendations are solicited annually from volunteer groups but this award is given only when there are deserving recipients who fit the criteria as affirmed by the Executive Committee.  The recipient is selected by the NADP Board.

See history of Gabryl Award winners.

Don Mayes Leadership Award

The Don Mayes Award honors volunteer service in leadership roles for a minimum of 3 years. The Award was created to fill in the “gap” between the Gabryl Award (lifetime achievement) and the annual Star Awards, which recognize one-time “above and beyond” contributions by volunteers. Recipients of the Don Mayes Award have served in leadership roles but may not have made the significant contributions to qualify for them for Gabryl Award, and yet they are ineligible for the Star Award as they determine the recipients for the Star Awards.

See history of Don Mayes Leadership Award Recipients.

Star Awards / Evelyn Ireland Volunteer Award

In 2019, the annual Star Award was renamed the Evelyn Ireland Volunteer Award in honor of NADP’s first executive director. Established in 2000, this award recognizes individuals who make unique or special volunteer contribution during the year to meet NADP's goals. While the Gabryl Award represents long-term volunteer contributions—a lifetime achievement award—toward NADP’s mission, the Evelyn Ireland Volunteer Awards recognize that one-time or shorter-term contributions of time and effort are required each year to accomplish our goals as well. Recipients may be part of a volunteer group or simply acting individually. Nominations come from Board members, chairs of volunteer groups and staff. The Executive Committee approves the final selections.

See history of all Award Recipients.