Don Mayes Leadership Award

The Don Mayes Award honors volunteer service in leadership roles for a minimum of 3 years. The Award was created to fill in the “gap” between the Gabryl Award (lifetime achievement) and the annual Star Awards, which recognize one-time “above and beyond” contributions by volunteers. Recipients of the Don Mayes Award have served in leadership roles but may not have made the significant contributions to qualify for the for Gabryl Award. Yet, they are ineligible for the Star Award as they determine the recipients for the Star Awards.